English Language Proficiency Exams

If You Are Applying to MSU:

MSU accepts the TOEFL, MSUELT, IELTS, AP English Language Test,  and MELAB. Consult the MSU Admissions web site for details.

 Preparing for English Language Proficiency Exams

  1. Consult the website for the test you are taking.  Most will offer excellent test prep materials, and often at no cost.
  2. For TOEFL preparation, go to www.ToeflGoAnywhere.org
  3. For English Language classes at MSU: The MSU English Language Center 
  4. For English Language classes in East Lansing: A+ English Language School
  5. For tutoring in English conversation: Volunteer English Tutoring Program
  6. Your local library has English Language Proficiency Study Guides.  ASK a librarian to assist you.
  7. Cambridge Michigan Language Assessments has a complete MELAB sample test, which is available for free download on their website!

 TESTS

The TOEFL is offered in computer-based format only (year round, world wide---The MSU Testing Office is an official test site).  Also, see "Preparing for English Language Proficiency Exams" above.

The MSU English Language Test (MSUELT) is offered several times a year through our EnglAlso, see "Preparing for English Language Proficiency Exams" above.ish Language Center. For more information, call 517-353-0800. 

The MELAB is based in Ann Arbor at the University of Michigan. The MSU Testing Office is an official test site for the MELAB. Link to MELAB (above) for details.  Also, see "Preparing for English Language Proficiency Exams" above.

How to Register for the MELAB at MSU:

  • MSU MELAB Test DATES and Registration DEADLINES.  The "deadline" is the last day for us to RECEIVE your registration form and payment.
    • Fri, Jan 24, 2014     (Deadline:Tues, Jan 7, 2014)
    • Fri, Feb 21, 2014     (Deadline: Tues. Feb 4, 2014)
    • Fri, Mar 21, 2014     (Deadline: Tues, Mar 4, 2014)
    • Fri, Apr 25, 2014     (Deadline, Tues, Apr 8, 2014)
    • Fri, May 16, 2014      (Deadline: Tues, Apr 29, 2014)
    •  
    • Fri, Jul 18, 2014      (Deadline: Mon, Jun 30, 2014)
    •  
    •  
    • Fri, Oct 24, 2014     (Deadline, Tues, Oct 7, 2014)
    • Fri, Nov 14, 2014     (Deadline: Tues, Oct 28, 2014)
    • Fri, Dec 5, 2014      (Deadline,Tues, Nov 18, 2014)
    •                    2015 dates not yet available

Call the Testing Office at 517-355-8385 for more information.

Print a copy of the MSU MELAB Reservation Form and follow the directions on the form.  Also complete the MELAB ID form and bring it with you the day of your test, along with a 2"x2" passport photo for this form.

Obtain a Registration Bulletin from the Testing Office (in person) or from the MELAB web site and review the day-of-test rules and regulations. 

The test fee must be paid in two parts:

   If you are taking the MELAB with SPEAKING 

         1.  non-refundable proctoring fee of $95 paid at the time of 
               registration
         2. testing fee of $95 paid on the day of the test

  If you are taking the MELAB with NO SPEAKING

         1. non-refundable proctoring fee of $75 paid at the time of 
                 registration

          2. testing fee of $75 paid on the day of the test.

If you wish to have your scores rushed, you must pay an ADDITIONAL $65 on test day.

Both fees may be paid by cash or check made payable to Michigan State University (no credit cards). 

Download the free MELAB sample test!

Other English Language Proficiency Exams